Find out about Pulse Wave Analysis

Devices

In the following table, we judge and conclude about the devices based on their applicability of the daily routine clinical use and/or research purposes.

The evaluation of the accuracy and the reliability of the parameters measured by the devices are not based on the claims of the manufacturer but solely on the data available from the scientific literature.

Tensiomed, Hungary

Arteriograph

Arteriograph.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

The first, patented, user-independent, simple and fast, single upper-arm suprasystolic cuff-based method, suitable for daily clinical routine work. Validated invasively. Existing cardiovascular outcome studies. Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

Tensiomed, Hungary

Arteriograph24

Arteriograph24.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple, single upper-arm suprasystolic cuff-based method, suitable for daily clinical routine work (both office measurement and 24-hour monitoring). The measuring algorithm validated invasively. Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

Boso, Germany

Boso ABI 100

BosoAbi.png

PWVcf* PWVba**

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

User-independent oscillometric ABI device, providing PWVba (brachial ankle) and estimated PWVcf (carotid femoral). None of PWVs are validated clinically.

*The device provides an estimation of carotid-femoral PWV from the brachial-ankle PWV using an unknown, unpublished method.

**No validation or other paper available according to Pubmed database.

USCOM, Australia

BP+

BPplus.png

PWVao

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple, fast, single upper arm cuff-based oscillometric, suprasystolic method.  SBPao was invasively validated but using standard non-invasive calibration the agreement was weak (mean difference and SD; -7±9 mmHg).

*No paper is available about invasive validation of AIXao.

Pjotr Telegrin, Russia

BPLab

BPlab.png

PWVao*

AIXao**

SBPao**

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple, fast, single upper arm cuff-based oscillometric, suprasystolic method. Uses non-validated generalized transfer function (GTF).

*PWVao correlates 99.7% with age and brachial SBP, indicating that the device does not measure real PWVao.

**No invasive validation of AIXao and SBPao.

HealthSTATS, Singapore

BPro

BPro.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Red No.png

Wrist-sensor based applanation tonometric device. Sensitive to the sensor positioning on the radial artery. Validated invasively, however, in one paper, at lower central SBP values the device overestimated the SBPao, while at higher central SBP values the device underestimated the SBPao.  Requires BP calibration. Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

Alam Medical, France

Complior

Complior.png

PWVcf

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Traditional, relatively time-consuming method with piezoelectric sensors, requires trained personnel. Invasively validated PWVcf, SBPao and AIXao. The device may overestimate the PWVao especially in cases of higher PWV, due to the simultaneous recording of carotid and femoral pressure curves, and the opposite propagation of the aortic pulse pressure waves to carotid and femoral sites. Existing several cardiovascular outcome studies.Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

Custo med, Germany

Custo Screen 310

PWA_custo-med_1849x800.png

PWVao*

AIXao

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Red No.png

User-independent, simple, and fast single upper-arm cuff based method for 24h measurement of peripheral and central blood pressure. Acquisition of the oscillometric pulse waves takes place during the deflation of the cuff. The algorithm uses adaptive transfer function. SBPao is validated invasively. No paper available about other stiffness parameters.

*No paper is available about invasive PWVao validation.

I.E.M, Germany

Mobil-o-Graph

MobiloGraph.png

PWVao*

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple and fast single upper-arm diastolic cuff pressure-based method . Unreliable PWVao measurement (ARC Solver Algorithm). PWVao correlates 99% with age and SBP indicating no real PWVao measurement. SBPao validated invasively. Uses non-validated generalized transfer function (GTF).

*No paper is available about invasive AIXao validation.

Omron, Japan

Omron HEM9000AI

Omron_HEM.png

PWVao

AIXra

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent applanation tonometric device providing radial Aix and Central Systolic Blood Pressure (SBPao). SBPao invasively validated. Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

Omron, Japan

Omron VP-1000

PWVba

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

Oscillometric ABI device, providing PWVba (brachial ankle), requiring four cuffs and other sensors. During brachial-ankle PWV measurement the representation of the aorta is partial, although only the aortic PWV has prognostic value for CV endpoints. No validation paper available. Existing outcome study.

Axelife, France

Popmetre

Popmetre.png

PWVft

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

Photoplethysmographic device measuring PWVft (finger-toe) of which clinical significance has not yet been clarified, because the pulse transit time between finger and toe are influenced not only by the aorta, but also by several muscular type peripheral arteries, too, which prognostic value has not been proven. It shows week correlation with invasively measured aortic PWV.

Diatecne, Italy

Pulsepen

Pulsepen.png

PWVcf

AIXao*

SBPao*

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-dependent and time-consuming applanation tonometric device with ECG gating for PWVao measurement. Its use requires trained personnel. Aortic PWV validated invasively. Does not use generalized transfer function (GTF).

*No paper is available about invasive SBPao and AIXao validation.

Schiller, Germany

Schiller BR-102 plus PWA

BR102.png

PWVao*

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple and fast single upper-arm diastolic cuff pressure-based method uses the same algorithm (ARCSolver) available in Mobil-o-Graph. For this reason, we refer to the relevant scientific papers of Mobil-o-Graph. Unreliable PWVao measurement (ARC Solver Algorithm). PWVao correlates 99% with age and SBP indicating no real PWVao measurement. SBPao validated invasively. Uses non-validated generalized transfer function (GTF).

*No paper is available about invasive AIXao validation. 

AtCor, Australia

SphygmoCor CPV

PWVao

PWVcf

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Time-consuming user-dependent applanation tonometric method with ECG gating for PWVao measurement. Its use requires trained personnel. Existing cardiovascular outcome studie. Uses invasively validated generalized transfer function (GTF). Invasively validated AIXao and SBPao. PWVao is also validated invasively, however the limit of agreement according to Bland-Altman plot turned to be high -3.8 m/s (-2SD) and 4.1 m/s (+2SD).

AtCor, Australia

SphygmoCor Xcel

PWVao

PWVcf*

SBPao

AIXao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Oscillometric, user-independent, simple and fast sub-diastolic single upper arm cuff method for PWA, and simultaneous applanation tonometric (carotid) + oscillometric (thigh) method for cfPWV measurement. The PWV measurement is time-consuming and user dependent. The device may overestimate the PWVao especially in cases of higher PWV, due to the simultaneous recording of carotid and femoral pressure curves, and the opposite propagation of the aortic pulse pressure waves to carotid and femoral sites. AIXao and SBPao are validated invasively. However, the device underestimated the AIXao with 7.7 ± 12.7% and the limits of agreement between the differences of the invasively and the device measured values were  -33.1% (-2SD) and +17.7% (+2SD), hardly acceptable for clinical use.

Uses invasively non-validated generalized transfer function to produce aortic pulse pressure waveforms from the brachial artery pressure waveforms (GTF).

*No paper is available about invasive PWVcf validation. 

Skidmore Medical, U.K.

Vicorder

Vicorder.png

PWVao

PWVcf*

SBPao**

AIXao**

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent and simple, simultaneous carotid-femoral cuff-based method to assess PWVao. The device may overestimate the PWVao especially in cases of higher PWV, due to the simultaneous recording of carotid and femoral pressure curves, and the opposite propagation of the aortic pulse pressure waves to carotid and femoral sites. Existing cardiovascular outcome study.

*No paper is available about invasive PWVcf validation.

**No validation study available for AIXao and SBPao.

Welch-Allyn, Germany

Welch-Allyn 7100

Welch.png

PWVao*

SBPao

AIXao*

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

User-independent, simple and fast single upper-arm diastolic cuff pressure-based method uses the same algorithm (ARCSolver) available in Mobil-o-Graph. For this reason, we refer to the relevant scientific papers of Mobil-o-Graph. Unreliable PWVao measurement (ARC Solver Algorithm). PWVao correlates 99% with age and SBP indicating no real PWVao measurement. SBPao validated invasively. Uses non-validated generalized transfer function (GTF).

*No paper is available about invasive AIXao validation.

**PWA upgrade is not available in the USA.

Abbreviations

PWVao: aortic Pulse Wave Velocity

SBPao: aortic (central) Systolic Blood Pressure

AIXao: aortic Augmentation Index

ao: aortic

ba: brachial-ankle

br: brachial

cf: carotid femoral

ft: finger-toe

ra: radial

Informieren Sie sich über Pulswellenanalyse Geräte

In der folgenden Tabelle werden die Geräte nach ihrer Eignung für den täglichen klinischen Routineeinsatz und/oder für Forschungszwecke beurteilt und bewertet.

Die Bewertung der Genauigkeit und der Zuverlässigkeit der von den Geräten gemessenen Parameter beruht nicht auf den Angaben des Herstellers, sondern ausschließlich auf den in der wissenschaftlichen Literatur verfügbaren Daten.

Tensiomed, Ungarn

Arteriograph

Arteriograph.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Die erste, patentierte, anwenderunabhängige, einfache und schnelle, auf der suprasystolischen Einzel-Oberarmmanschette basierende Messmethode, geeignet für die tägliche klinische Routinearbeit. Invasiv validiert. Kardiovaskuläre Outcome-Studien vorhanden. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

Tensiomed, Ungarn

Arteriograph24

Arteriograph24.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Anwenderunabhängige, einfache, auf einer suprasystolischen Oberarmmanschette basierende Messmethode, geeignet für die tägliche klinische Routinearbeit (sowohl Büromessung als auch 24-Stunden-Monitoring). Der Messalgorithmus ist invasiv validiert. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

Boso, Deutschland

Boso ABI 100

BosoAbi.png

PWVcf* PWVba**

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

Benutzerunabhängiges oszillometrisches ABI-Gerät, das die PWVba (Brachial-Knöchel) und die geschätzte PWVcf (Carotis femoralis) ermittelt. Keine der PWVs ist klinisch validiert.

*Das Gerät liefert eine Schätzung der karotidal-femoralen PWV aus der Brachial-Knöchel-PWV unter Verwendung einer unbekannten, unveröffentlichten Methode.

**Keine Validierung oder andere Publikation laut Pubmed-Datenbank verfügbar.

USCOM, Australien

BP+

BPplus.png

PWVao

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerunabhängige, einfache, schnelle, auf einer Oberarmmanschette basierende oszillometrische, suprasystolische Methode.  SBPao wurde invasiv validiert, aber unter Verwendung der standardmäßigen nicht-invasiven Kalibrierung war die Übereinstimmung gering (mittlere Differenz und SD; -7±9 mmHg).

*Es ist keine Studie über die invasive Validierung von AIXao verfügbar.

Pjotr Telegrin, Russland

BPLab

BPlab.png

PWVao*

AIXao**

SBPao**

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerunabhängige, einfache, schnelle, auf einer Oberarmmanschette basierende oszillometrische, suprasystolische Methode. Verwendet die nicht-validierte generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

*Die PWVao korreliert zu 99,7 % mit dem Alter und dem brachialen SBP, was darauf hindeutet, dass das Gerät keine echte PWVao misst.

**Keine invasive Validierung von AIXao und SBPao.

HealthSTATS, Singapur

BPro

BPro.png

PWVao

AIXao

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Red No.png

Applanationstonometer auf Basis eines Handgelenksensors. Empfindlich für die Sensorpositionierung an der Radialarterie. Invasiv validiert, jedoch überschätzte das Gerät in einer Arbeit bei niedrigeren zentralen SBP-Werten den SBPao, während das Gerät bei höheren zentralen SBP-Werten den SBPao unterschätzte. Erfordert eine BP-Kalibrierung. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

Alam Medical, Frankreich

Complior

Complior.png

PWVcf

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Traditionelle, relativ zeitaufwendige Methode mit piezoelektrischen Sensoren, erfordert geschultes Personal. Invasiv validierte PWVcf, SBPao und AIXao. Das Gerät kann die PWVao vor allem bei höherer PWV überbewerten, aufgrund der gleichzeitigen Aufzeichnung von Karotis- und femoralen Druckkurven und der entgegengesetzten Ausbreitung der Aortenpulsdruckwellen zu Karotis- und Femoralstellen. Es existieren mehrere kardiovaskuläre Outcome-Studien. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

Custo med, Deutschland

Custo Screen 310

PWA_custo-med_1849x800.png

PWVao*

AIXao

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Red No.png

Benutzerunabhängiges, einfaches und schnelles Verfahren auf Basis einer einzelnen Oberarmmanschette zur 24h-Messung des peripheren und zentralen Blutdrucks. Die Erfassung der oszillometrischen Pulswellen erfolgt während der Deflation der Manschette. Der Algorithmus verwendet eine adaptive Übertragungsfunktion. SBPao wurde invasiv validiert.

 

*Über die invasive PWVao-Validierung liegen keine Publikationen vor.

I.E.M, Deutschland

Mobil-o-Graph

MobiloGraph.png

PWVao*

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerunabhängige, einfache und schnelle, auf dem diastolischen Oberarm-Manschettendruck basierende Messmethode . Unzuverlässige PWVao-Messung (ARC Solver Algorithmus). PWVao korreliert zu 99% mit Alter und brachialem SBP, was auf keine echte PWVao-Messung hinweist. SBPao invasiv validiert. Verwendet die nicht-validierte generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

*Über die invasive AIXao-Validierung liegen keine Publikationen vor.

Omron, Japan

Omron HEM9000AI

Omron_HEM.png

PWVao

AIXra

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerunabhängiges Applanationstonometer zur Messung des radialen AIX und des zentralen systolischen Blutdrucks (SBPao). SBPao invasiv validiert. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

Omron, Japan

Omron VP-1000

PWVba

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

Oszillometrisches ABI-Gerät, das die PWVba (brachial-knöchel) liefert und vier Manschetten und weitere Sensoren benötigt. Bei der Brachial-Knöchel-PWV-Messung ist die Darstellung der Aorta partiell, obwohl nur die Aorten-PWV prognostischen Aussagewert für CV-Endpunkte hat. Keine Validierung verfügbar. Outcome-Studie vorhanden.

Axelife, Frankreich

Popmetre

Popmetre.png

PWVft

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Red No.png
Red No.png

Photoplethysmographisches Gerät zur Messung der PWVft (Finger-Zehe), deren klinische Bedeutung noch nicht geklärt ist, da die Pulslaufzeit zwischen Finger und Zeh nicht nur von der Aorta, sondern auch von mehreren muskulär geprägten peripheren Arterien beeinflusst wird, deren prognostischer Wert nicht nachgewiesen ist. Sie zeigt eine schwache Korrelation mit der invasiv gemessenen aortalen PWV.

Diatecne, Italien

Pulsepen

Pulsepen.png

PWVcf

AIXao*

SBPao*

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerabhängiges und zeitaufwändiges Applanationstonometer mit EKG-Gating zur PWVao-Messung. Die Anwendung erfordert geschultes Personal. Aorta-PWV invasiv validiert. Verwendet keine generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

*Über die invasive Validierung von SBPao und AIXao ist keine Publikation verfügbar.

Schiller, Deutschland

Schiller BR-102 plus PWA

BR102.png

PWVao*

AIXao*

SBPao

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Die benutzerunabhängige, einfache und schnelle auf dem diastolischen Manschettendruck basierende Methode für den Oberarm verwendet den gleichen Algorithmus (ARCSolver), der auch in Mobil-o-Graph verfügbar ist. Aus diesem Grund verweisen wir auf die entsprechenden wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten von Mobil-o-Graph. Unzuverlässige PWVao-Messung (ARC Solver Algorithmus). PWVao korreliert zu 99% mit Alter und brachialem SBP, was auf keine echte PWVao-Messung hindeutet. SBPao invasiv validiert. Verwendet nicht-validierte generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

*Über die invasive AIXao-Validierung ist keine Publikation verfügbar. 

AtCor, Australien

SphygmoCor CPV

PWVao

PWVcf

AIXao

SBPao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Zeitaufwändiges anwenderabhängiges applanationstonometrisches Verfahren mit EKG-Gating zur PWVao-Messung. Ihre Anwendung erfordert geschultes Personal. Kardiovaskuläre Outcome-Studie vorhanden. Verwendet invasiv validierte generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF). Invasiv validierte AIXao und SBPao. PWVao ist ebenfalls invasiv validiert, die Grenze der Übereinstimmung gemäß Bland-Altman-Plot fiel jedoch hoch aus -3,8 m/s (-2SD) und 4,1 m/s (+2SD).

AtCor, Australien

SphygmoCor Xcel

PWVao

PWVcf*

SBPao

AIXao

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Oszillometrisches, anwenderunabhängiges, einfaches und schnelles subdiastolisches Einzeloberarmmanschettenverfahren für PWA und simultanes applanationstonometrisches (Karotis) + oszillometrisches (Oberschenkel) Verfahren für cfPWV-Messung. Die PWV-Messung ist zeitaufwändig und anwenderabhängig. Das Gerät kann die PWVao vor allem bei höherer PWV überbewerten, was auf die gleichzeitige Aufzeichnung von Carotis- und Femoraldruckkurven und die gegenläufige Ausbreitung der Aortenpulsdruckwellen zu Carotis- und Femoralstellen zurückzuführen ist. AIXao und SBPao sind invasiv validiert. Allerdings unterschätzte das Gerät den AIXao mit 7,7 ± 12,7% und die Grenzen der Übereinstimmung zwischen den Differenzen der invasiv und mit dem Gerät gemessenen Werte lagen bei -33,1% (-2SD) und +17,7% (+2SD), kaum akzeptabel für den klinischen Einsatz.
Verwendet invasiv nicht validierte verallgemeinerte Transferfunktion zur Erzeugung von Aortenpulsdruck-Wellenformen aus den Druckwellen der Brachialarterie (GTF).

*Es ist keine Publikation über invasive PWVcf-Validierung verfügbar.

Skidmore Medical, U.K.

Vicorder

Vicorder.png

PWVao

PWVcf*

SBPao**

AIXao**

Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Benutzerunabhängige und einfache, simultane carotid-femorale Manschettenmethode zur Beurteilung der PWVao. Das Gerät kann die PWVao insbesondere bei höherer PWV überbewerten, bedingt durch die gleichzeitige Aufzeichnung von carotiden und femoralen Druckkurven und die gegenläufige Ausbreitung der aortalen Pulsdruckwellen zu carotiden und femoralen Stellen. Kardiovaskuläre Outcome-Studie vorhanden.

*Über die invasive Validierung von PWVcf ist keine Publikation verfügbar.

**Keine Validierungsstudie für AIXao und SBPao verfügbar.

Welch-Allyn, Deutschland

Welch-Allyn 7100

Welch.png

PWVao*

SBPao

AIXao*

Red No.png
Green Yes.png
Green Yes.png

Die benutzerunabhängige, einfache und schnelle auf dem diastolischen Manschettendruck basierende Methode für den Oberarm verwendet den gleichen Algorithmus (ARCSolver), der auch in Mobil-o-Graph verfügbar ist. Aus diesem Grund verweisen wir auf die entsprechenden wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten von Mobil-o-Graph. Unzuverlässige PWVao-Messung (ARC Solver Algorithmus). PWVao korreliert zu 99% mit Alter und brachialem SBP, was auf keine echte PWVao-Messung hindeutet. SBPao invasiv validiert. Verwendet die nicht-validierte generalisierte Transferfunktion (GTF).

*Über die invasive AIXao-Validierung ist keine Publikation verfügbar.

**Das PWA-Upgrade ist in den USA nicht verfügbar.

Abkürzungen

PWVao: aortale Pulswellengeschwindigkeit

SBPao: aortaler (zentraler) systolischer Blutdruck

AIXao: aortaler Augmentationsindex

ao: aortal

ba: Knöchel-Arm

br: brachial

cf: carotid femoral

ft: Finger-Zeh

ra: radial